2019 Pre-Registered

Thursday, September 20, 2007

Kong profile from CBC

A longer profile of Dezheng Kong, eight years old, who tied for first place in the U1800 section.

From CBC Winnipeg, September 20, 2007

Sunday, September 9, 2007

Prize winners

Overall: Scores out of 5
1st. 4.5 points
Sam Lipnowski

4 points
Dave Langner
Gustavo Melamedoff
Trevor Vincent

"A" Class:
3 points
Joseph Van Wyk
Tony Boron

Under 1800:

4 points
Jordan Kwiatek
Dezheng Kong
Keith Gannon

Under 1600:

3 points
George Anderson
Aaron Green
Matthew Sigurdson
Albert Tuason
Saul Magnusson

Thursday, September 6, 2007

Round 5

Trevor Vincent Igal Raihman

Lipnowski Langner

Jordan Kwiatek Daniel Raihman

Round 4

Jordan Kwiatek Dezheng Kong

Alex Nikouline David Langner

Waldemar Schulz Jay Khedkar

Round 3

Trevor Vincent Daniel Oberton

Sam Lipnowski Alex Nikouline

Round 2

Sam Cleto Rolando Bince Aron Kaptsan Jeff Babb

Jay Khedkar David Langner Edward Tang

Trevor Vincent Gustavo Melamedoff

Jason Repa

Round 1

Sam Lipnowski Tony Boron

Monday, September 3, 2007

AY Memorial on TV

Nigel Hanrahan writes:

Samuel Lipnowski (2281) won the open section with 4.5 points out of 5. Gustavo Melamedoff (1975), David Langner (2261), who came out of a lengthy retirement from over-the-board chess, and Trevor Vincent (2175) were tied at 4/5.

Dezheng Kong, Jordan Kwiatek, and Keith Gannon shared first place in the U1800 section with 4 points. Kong got some media attention as the eight year-old wunderkind of the event. There has already been some local coverage and there should be some national coverage as well this week on the CBC. I had a Yanofsky moment in the event when Dezheng had to be lifted up to mark his win on the results page to the amusement of his mum and gathered onlookers. It would have been funny to get that on TV.

Somewhere, Abe Yanofsky is smiling.

Saturday, September 1, 2007

AY results

Standings and crosstable at


AY First Round

VP of MCA, Harley Greenberg provides opening remarks to the 54+ players.

More participants are expected Saturday and Sunday for the novice tournaments.

Sam Lipnowski won the Blitz

And also is now top rated for the AY Memorial

Thursday, August 30, 2007

Blitz Satellite ! Friday

Yanofsky Memorial blitz tournament
Written by Blair Rutter

We will be having a special blitz tournament this Friday, August 31 at Merchant Park at noon. The winner will get free entry into the Abe Yanofsky Memorial tournament to be held this upcoming weekend. The highest ranking unrated player in the blitz tournament will also get free entry into either one of the novice tournaments to be held Saturday and Sunday in conjunction with the Yanofsky tournament.
Entry in the blitz is free and please show up at least 5 minutes before noon to register. Merchant Park is located on the south side of Portage Ave., between Kennedy and Edmonton Street.

Tuesday, August 21, 2007

Top Section to be FIDE rated

We will be submitting the results of the top section for FIDE rating

Also there is a possibility that the first round time control may be G /120

Tuesday, August 14, 2007

28 Players Pre-registered

Includes (list will be confirmed on Sunday, August 19)
Fred Gibson
Wiexi Liu
James Atem
Leah Green
Aaron Green
Jim Green
Tony Boron
Aron Kaptsan
Alex Nikouline
Jay Khedkar
Daniel Oberton
Keith Gannon
Daneil Raihman
Igal Raihman
Gary Campbell
Jim Lauritson
Waldemar Schulz
Edward Tang
Saul Magnusson
Jeff Babb
Ryan Swift
Rory Curtis
Gustavo Melamedoff
Trevor Vincent

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Tournament Details

5th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Tournament

This tournament is the signature event of the Manitoba Chess Association. It is named in honour of Abe Yanofsky, the first chess player in the British Commonwealth to be awarded the Grandmaster title.
Mr. Yanofsky, who died in 2000, was a prominent Winnipeg lawyer and city councillor.

Dates: Friday, August 31 to Sunday, September 2, 2007
Location: Riddell Hall, University of Winnipeg
Prize Fund: $ 4,000 in total (based on entries)
Format: 5 round Swiss System, Two Sections
Open Section [will be submitted for FIDE rating]
U 1800 Section
Round Times: Friday 7:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 a.m. and 3:30 p.m
Time Control: 30 /90, All/1 (30 moves in 90 minutes / Remainder in 60 minutes) [Note: First round may be G /120 - TBA]
Entry Fee: $ 60
Juniors (under 18 years of age) - Seniors (over 60 years of age)- $ 50
$ 10 discount for entry by August 7, 2007

CFC Membership also required

Registration: on site, Friday, August 31 at 6:30 p.m., or in advance -
cheques payable to:
Manitoba Chess Association
c/o Lorne Gibbons
44 Ainsdale Way
Winnipeg, MB R2C 4B4

Prizes: (based on entries):
Open Section: 1st $ 1,000 , 2nd $ 700, 3rd $ 500
Top A Class - $ 250, 125

U 1800 Section 1st $ 500, 2nd $ 375
Top U1600 $ 250, $ 100

New for 2007 !: Novice Section

Open to players who have never played in a Chess Federation of Canada event and are unrated.

1 day events on each of Saturday and Sunday. $ 100 in prizes each day ! (Saturday 1st place not eligible for Sunday 1st place prize)

Entry Fee $ 10 per day. Registration at 9:30 a.m. Rounds begin at 10:00 a.m each day.

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Winnipeg Free Press article July 21, 2007

Chess / Cecil Rosner

Sat Jul 21 2007

THE fifth annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Tournament is set for the University of Winnipeg on Labour Day weekend, and once again it promises to be the biggest event on the local schedule.

The tournament honours Winnipeg's best-known chess personality, Abe Yanofsky, Canada's first grandmaster and an eight-time national champion. He died in 2000, and the memorial tournament has brought together strong players from across town and around the world.

Recently an exhibit of Yanofsky memorabilia was on display outside the mayor's office at city hall. You can catch a glimpse of some of the materials, still on display in a glass case, at the city's archives building on William Avenue. Included is Yanofsky's original scoresheet of his win against Peruvian champion Dulanto in the 1939 Buenos Aires Olympiad, one of the century's best-known games.

The Yanofsky Memorial has featured a collection of strong grandmasters over the years, including Kevin Spraggett, Mark Bluvshtein and Sergey Shipov. The very first edition of the memorial featured six grandmasters, and was won by long-time Yanofsky friend and colleague, Arthur Bisguier of the U.S.

This year, with no invited grandmasters, the chances for local players winning big prizes is high. And with an enhanced prizefund of $4,000, interest should be substantial.

The tournament runs Aug. 31 to Sept. 2 in Riddell Hall at the University of Winnipeg. It is a five-round event in two sections (Open and Under 1800). Top prize is $1,000, with many class prizes as well. Entry fee is $60 ($50 for Juniors and Seniors).

This year there is a new wrinkle: two one-day tournaments for complete beginners. If you have never played in a rated tournament, consider this one. On Sept. 1 and 2 there will be separate, one-day events for novices, with $100 prize funds. Entry fee is $10.

Register between 6-7 p.m. Friday, Aug. 31 at Riddell Hall for the main event, or on either Saturday or Sunday at 9:30 a.m. for the novice tournaments.

For further information, contact Blair Rutter at blairrutter@shaw.ca, or go to http://aymemorialchess.blogspot.com, or to www.chessmanitoba.com

* * *