2019 Pre-Registered

Thursday, September 20, 2007

Kong profile from CBC

A longer profile of Dezheng Kong, eight years old, who tied for first place in the U1800 section.

From CBC Winnipeg, September 20, 2007

Sunday, September 9, 2007

Prize winners

Overall: Scores out of 5
1st. 4.5 points
Sam Lipnowski

4 points
Dave Langner
Gustavo Melamedoff
Trevor Vincent

"A" Class:
3 points
Joseph Van Wyk
Tony Boron

Under 1800:

4 points
Jordan Kwiatek
Dezheng Kong
Keith Gannon

Under 1600:

3 points
George Anderson
Aaron Green
Matthew Sigurdson
Albert Tuason
Saul Magnusson

Thursday, September 6, 2007

Round 5

Trevor Vincent Igal Raihman

Lipnowski Langner

Jordan Kwiatek Daniel Raihman

Round 4

Jordan Kwiatek Dezheng Kong

Alex Nikouline David Langner

Waldemar Schulz Jay Khedkar

Round 3

Trevor Vincent Daniel Oberton

Sam Lipnowski Alex Nikouline

Round 2

Sam Cleto Rolando Bince Aron Kaptsan Jeff Babb

Jay Khedkar David Langner Edward Tang

Trevor Vincent Gustavo Melamedoff

Jason Repa

Round 1

Sam Lipnowski Tony Boron

Monday, September 3, 2007

AY Memorial on TV

Nigel Hanrahan writes:

Samuel Lipnowski (2281) won the open section with 4.5 points out of 5. Gustavo Melamedoff (1975), David Langner (2261), who came out of a lengthy retirement from over-the-board chess, and Trevor Vincent (2175) were tied at 4/5.

Dezheng Kong, Jordan Kwiatek, and Keith Gannon shared first place in the U1800 section with 4 points. Kong got some media attention as the eight year-old wunderkind of the event. There has already been some local coverage and there should be some national coverage as well this week on the CBC. I had a Yanofsky moment in the event when Dezheng had to be lifted up to mark his win on the results page to the amusement of his mum and gathered onlookers. It would have been funny to get that on TV.

Somewhere, Abe Yanofsky is smiling.

Saturday, September 1, 2007

AY results

Standings and crosstable at


AY First Round

VP of MCA, Harley Greenberg provides opening remarks to the 54+ players.

More participants are expected Saturday and Sunday for the novice tournaments.

Sam Lipnowski won the Blitz

And also is now top rated for the AY Memorial