2019 Pre-Registered

Friday, May 20, 2011

2011 9th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Chess Tournament Aug 5 -7

9th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Tournament - August 5-7

2011 9th Annual Abe Yanofsky Memorial Chess Tournament
University of Winnipeg 
Convocation Hall

$ 2,500 total Prize Fund Guaranteed !

Soviet-born grandmaster Alex Yermolinsky, a two-time U.S. champion, has already confirmed his attendance. Indications are good that two other grandmasters will also be playing in the open tournament, including a player who used to rank in the top echelons of world chess.

Yanofsky, Canada’s first grandmaster and a prominent Winnipeg lawyer and city councilor, died in 2000. An annual memorial tournament has been held every year since U.S. grandmaster Arthur Bisguier won the first edition in 2003.

Over the years, many strong players have come to Winnipeg to play in the event, including former Canadian champion Kevin Spraggett, Icelandic grandmaster Helgi Olafsson, and Russian grandmaster Sergei Shipov.

Yermolinsky has been a mainstay of the American chess scene since immigrating there about 20 years ago. In addition to winning the national championship and playing on the U.S. Olympiad team, he has authored two critically-acclaimed chess books.

Normally the Yanofsky Memorial is held on or near the Labour Day weekend, but this year’s event will be earlier. It is set for August 5-7 at the University of Winnipeg. The tournament is open to all, and will be held in two sections.

First prize is set at $1,000, and there will be $2,500 in total prizes. Entry fee is $60 ($50 for Juniors), with a $10 discount for early entry (by June 30)
For more information, or to register, contact Blair Rutter at blairrutter@shaw.ca, or call 256-2353, or email chessmanitoba@gmail.com

Format: 5 round Swiss System, Two Sections
Open Section (CFC and FIDE rated)
Under  1800 Section (CFC rated)
Round Times: Friday 7:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m
Time Control:  Round 1 G/ 110 ; Round 2-5 Game/90 + 30 second increment
Entry Fee: $ 60
Juniors (under 19 years of age) - $ 50

Free entry to GMs. IMs,and FMs (entry fee will be refunded after completing all 5 round

CFC Membership also required (available on site) Annual Fee - Adults $ 49, Juniors $ 36. (First time members -Adults $ 36, Juniors $ 24)

Registration:   On site, Friday, August 5 : 6:30 - 6:50 p.m.

Prize Fund:

Open Section 

1st - $ 1,000
2nd - $ 300
3rd - $ 150
1st - $ 200
2nd - $ 100

 U1800 Section

1st - $ 250
2nd - $ 150
1st - $ 200
2nd - $ 100
1st - $ 50

Rules to be noted:
Anti-draw rules will be in effect (no agreed draws before move 31)
New FIDE Zero tolerance forfeit rule NOT in effect -old rule in effect; players will not be forfeited for non-attendance until one hour after scheduled start of round.
Half-point byes OK, any of first four rounds, limit 2, must commit before rd 2.


Convocation Hall  - 2nd floor of Wesley Hall - University of Winnipeg - Enter via the center of the building below.

Wesley Hall

Convocation Hall

Tournament Information

Pre-registrants - will be updated continuously

GM Yermolinsky Simultaneous Exhibition - 
Friday, August 5 - noon -Portage Place - Edmonton Court
Entry Fee $ 10 - contact blairrutter@shaw.ca

Pictures from GM Yermolinsky Simultaneous Exhibition - October 2010 - Moorhead, MN